Osmos Support

Feedback and support for the PC version of Osmos
sicbanana
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:35 am

Re: Osmos Support

Postby sicbanana » Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:54 am

hi!

the problem:

"The application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem."

... i get this message after trying to launch osmos.
... reinstalling the application doesn't fix this problem!

the demo worked fine. i loved the game!
so i bought it.
now, i can't make it launch...
there is no osmos.log anywhere.
installing visual c++ 2005 runtime libraries hasn't helped.

what should i do?

sicbanana
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:35 am

Re: Osmos Support

Postby sicbanana » Sat Jan 02, 2010 9:16 am

... problem solved!

i just found out, that there is a newer version of the 2005 c++ runtime. the 2008 version :)
it works with it! at least with my laptop! ;)

thx for nothing ;)

keep up the good work!!

User avatar
eddybox
Site Admin
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:22 am
Location: Nelson, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Osmos Support

Postby eddybox » Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:01 pm

Hi sicbanana,

I assume you're running the new 1.6.0 version. If so, I'd like to get to the bottom of this.

So you had to download and install the 2008 c++ runtime by hand? That's odd, as we've actually included the 2008 runtime with the game. (in c:\program files\osmos\Microsoft.VC90.CRT)

Is anyone else experiencing this problem? If so, please mail webmaster@<this domain>.com. I'd like to troubleshoot the problem with you to see if we can avoid people having to install the 2008 runtime by hand.

Thanks,
Eddy

AgrahamLincoln
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Osmos Support

Postby AgrahamLincoln » Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:30 pm

Osmos will not run on my computer. I am running the Steam version and it does not load. i have tried uninstalling and reinstalling it, installing the c++ redistributable, and anything else i could find. Nothing seems to have affected it at all. When i try to run it, this is what happens...

The screen shows up like it would for any game saying its running the game
http://i46.tinypic.com/20pufqc.png

then normally the window would show up or it would appear in fullscreen, this does not occur. i see no residual processes or anything, it just seems to fail without error to load.

User avatar
Meal Worms
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Osmos Support

Postby Meal Worms » Tue Jan 26, 2010 8:08 am

Hi AgrahamLincoln,

Does the 'Preparing to launch Osmos...' window just disappear silently? Does any kind of error window pop up describing why Osmos won't load?

Dave

AgrahamLincoln
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Osmos Support

Postby AgrahamLincoln » Tue Jan 26, 2010 3:05 pm

yes, it just dissapears and like i said there are no proccesses running afterwards, nothing at all. The game just doesnt launch without any error

User avatar
Meal Worms
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Osmos Support

Postby Meal Worms » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:29 am

Strange, AgrahamLincoln -- I've never heard of this problem before.

Have your tried raising the issue with Steam? For example, I just came across this article on the Steam support pages that describes your symptoms -- anything there that's helpful to you?

Most notably, try verifying your Steam game cache files, as described here.

Thanks,
Dave

AgrahamLincoln
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Osmos Support

Postby AgrahamLincoln » Fri Jan 29, 2010 5:41 pm

i tried all that and i religiously update my drivers so that shouldnt be a problem. the only thing i can think of is trying to reinstalling my video drivers, but they worked before and i play other games without a problem. i tried reinstalling steam that didnt affect anything, and all of my game files were verified fine so it's not that. i am simply stumped....

User avatar
Meal Worms
Posts: 624
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:22 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Osmos Support

Postby Meal Worms » Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:32 pm

Hi AgrahamLincoln,

I'd like to follow up with you via email. Can you send an email to us at billingsupport <at> thisdomain, referencing this thread?

Thanks!
Dave

AgrahamLincoln
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 9:21 pm

Re: Osmos Support

Postby AgrahamLincoln » Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:42 am

sure!


Return to “Osmos PC (Win/Mac/Linux)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest